Work Sucks, I Know

This will never change in our society; we like to blame others for our problem.  I don’t like blaming an individual for their health issue because there are too many negative influences surrounding them.  Ron Williams gave a lecture at PFI, in his lecture he said that the biggest misconception people have of overweight people is that they are lazy when in fact they are the most devoted to fitness because they are more likely to stick and follow fad diets.  If anyone has every followed a fad diet you know that those are hard to stay committed to.  Odd thing about me is that I used to be a member of a “Hollywood type” cult.  I was sucked into a religion of outrageous belief because they drained my time and narrowed my focus down to one purpose.  This was by far my greatest life experience I ever had because I learned something important- all businesses in this country are ran like religious cults.  We don’t have an overweight problem in this country; people are just plain out of shape.  I don’t think skinny Mary has a right to say something about obese Jerry when her posture is all out of wack and her blood pressure is on the verge of hitting a new high.
How many work places actually follow ergonomics?  Most people are unhealthy because of where they work.  They are stuck in a small, unhappy, space for 40 or more hours a week, focused on a narrow minded repetitive task.  Like members of a religious cult, people in the work place become zombies and they are damaging their bodies.   People who are forced to do things to survive for a long time span subconsciously turn thinking off and rely on comfort and a one set mind “brain help me get through this torture.” People are not realizing that they are risking their good health to get through the day.  No human being was designed to sit in a chair for eight hours straight- so people sacrifice posture to get through the day.  Many people forget to plan ahead for snacks, so people sacrifice needed nutrition for wasted junk.
My point is, I really believe America’s fitness problem is due to the work place.  If businesses got with it and added more color, focused on ergonomics, and treated people like humans instead of machines- two things would happen- a job that sucks can become a cool job and the population wouldn’t have so many people in debt due to hospital bills.

Leave a comment