Judge Me

    A friend of mine asked me once, “Do you judge people who are out of shape as being lazy?” I told him, “If I judged people based on their appearance then I don’t need to be a personal trainer.”  Everybody has a story and I have been there before.  

    It hurts when people judge you based on outer appearance.  I’ve been judged for many different reasons in my past and even today I am hit with many negative stereotyping.  At the same time, I’m also guilty of judging people based on their demeanor.  When I do something I’m not supposed to, I always ask that God corrects me and he does.  During my trip in Vegas there was one person I judged to myself.  I wouldn’t allow myself to walk past their character and even ask a simple question about them.  On our last day, PFI assigned each student to give a 5-10 minute presentation about what they have taken from Personal Training.  This character had the floor and this person gave their story.  I felt like a thousand dangers stabbed me through the heart.  Everybody has a story and life molds us to become who we are.  Some of us fight through it and change and some of us accept it and become what society wants us to become.  This person was a fighter and everything I thought this person was everything they weren’t.  

    My lesson from God was, “If you are here to help people why are you judging what I created.”  

When somebody approaches me to help them, the first thing I should see is what’s going on beneath the skin.  There is no such thing as lazy but there is such a thing as depression, loneliness, stress, food addiction, no free time, and lack of knowledge.   

Leave a comment